Wholewheat Scones

These scones are really a treat. Made without a form of any kind, these can be made in any shape you want really. And, Mom loves them. She always wants me to make these!

Come to mama

This is mine!

Unfortunately, I forgot to take  photos until nearly the end. In the middle of baking, I had to switch back to my “farm girl” mode. One of our workers is raising kittens, and a little kitty had a mean temper. As a result, I was running around looking for plasters. Anyway, I am going to put the whole recipe at the bottom, after going though the whole thing step for step. Well, half the steps… Start by mixing together the two different flours, baking powder, sugar, butter and milk. Then cut it all into equally sized pieces.

DSCF1716

Now, gently shape the pieces into squares (or circles, or whatever), until you have a little mountain of shapes.

DSCF1718

Pop them on a sheet pan covered with baking paper (and spray the baking paper lightly with non-stick spray).

DSCF1724

Place in a preheated oven at 220°C/425°F for 10-15 minutes until the scones are crisp and golden…

Now, these smell absolutely awesome!

Now, these smell absolutely awesome!

I then cut a warm one in half and smear it with a yummy jam;

DSCF1729

If you like cheese, you can leave the sugar out and sprinkle cheese on top before putting the scones in the oven. I tried these once, and they where a hit. Also, if you’re not into wholewheat, just replace the wholewheat flour with cake flour. Works every time.

I love it when you can just click a print button and print only the recipe that you found on a blog. But, I cannot figure out how to do that… If anyone knows, give me a shout please? Recipe below… Sorry about the fact that you can’t print it. By the way, you can easily halve the recipe, I always make double of the original recipe.

WHOLEWHEAT SCONES

  • 2 cups Cake Flour
  • 2 cups Nutty wheat Flour
  • 8 tsp Baking Powder
  • 4 tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 100g Butter
  • 1 1⁄2 cups Milk

Preheat oven to 220°C/425°F. Mix together sifted flour, wholewheat flour, baking powder and brown sugar in a bowl. Using your fingertips, gently rub in the butter until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. Add milk and mix well.

Lightly dust a clean worktop with flour. Use your hands to press the dough together and place in on the worktop. Squish into a long roll. Cut equally sized pieces, and shape into squares. Place onto a sheet pan lined with baking paper. Into the oven for 10-15 minutes until cooked through and crisp. Wrap in a clean tea towel and cool on a cooling rack. Or just eat them warm!

This recipe make about 18 scones.

One response »

  1. Dear Rain
    I have just eaten the last of the 16 scones you made for me. Please make me some more!
    Love
    Mom

    Reply

Leave a comment